Board Membership

Membership on the Board is open to any and all of NC's dispensing opticians -- any licensee wishing to uphold their profession and serve their state in this manner may place their name on the Board's election ballot for seats available each year.

Letters/petitions of nomination must be received in the Board office by April 1 of each year; the nomination must be endorsed by five licensees. View sample letter of nomination.

The Board's annual election is held in early April (currently by mailed ballots), and the tallied results submitted to the Office of the Governor for completion of the appointment process.

Public members are appointed on recommendation and endorsement by the Office of the Governor.

All members serve three-year terms, and no member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

Chair -  Debra N. Newell
  Resident City: Wake Forest   Term Expiration: 6/30/2017
Vice-Chair - Ian Radford
  Resident City: Wilmington   Term Expiration: 6/30/2017
Secretary-Treasurer - Carolyn Middlebrooks
  Resident City: Charlotte   Term Expiration: 6/30/2018
Member -  Linda W. Miller
  Resident City: Washington   Term Expiration: 6/30/2018
Member -  Jerome Graham
  Resident City: Greenville   Term Expiration: 6/30/2019
Public Member - Tracy Perina
  Resident City: Raleigh   Term Expiration: 6/30/2018
Public Member - Tanzy B. Wallace
  Resident City: Shelby   Term Expiration: 6/30/2017